Reviews

REVIEWS

First class traditional country pub! – July 2018

The Rose & Crown is a fabulous traditional country pub, serving proper pub food to an incredibly high standard. There are no ghastly flatscreen TVs or flashing game consoles, just exposed beams and traditional Cotswold stone. Always an exceptionally warm welcome from the owner Martin and his team. The pub is also a great place for a beer and boasts a very nice beer garden, all set in an exceptionally pretty country village! My favourite Pub!

_________________________________________________________________________________

Great place to stop for lunch on a hike – June 2018

We were taking a hike from Burford cross country through farms and knew that there was a pub at the farthest point we planned to walk. As it turned out it was the Rose and Crown and a perfect place for a snack and some refreshments.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Good, local Cotswold Pub – June  2018

Great food in a small village pub. Good, friendly service, but best to book. Would be good for people visiting Burford who want to escape the crush.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Fantastic Sunday lunch – April 2018

We are staying at the Motorhome and Caravan club site at Burford and spotted a menu in the info room for the Rose and Crown. The menu tempted us to ring and book a table at short notice, the Saturday night to be exact. We walked to the pub from the caravan site about 1.5 miles and took about 30 minutes, we arrived for Sunday Lunch and was made welcome by really friendly staff. Our table was next to the log fire which was really welcome on a cold Easter Sunday. We both ordered the slow cooked lamb from the menu which was served with vegetables and excellent roast potatoes. The lamb was succulent and vegetables cooked to perfection (we like a little bite to our veg). We finished off our meal with deserts, bread and butter pudding and spotted dick, both were tasty. We can recommend the Rose and Crown for its small village atmosphere, log fire, excellent food and welcoming staff.
We will return when we are next in the area.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

Never disappoints! – January 1018

This is our favourite eating place in the whole area. We moved to Burford 2 years ago and have tried several places for food. We have always had excellent food and the service is friendly and efficient. The menu is really interesting and, unlike many places around here, doesn’t feature burgers or pizzas! This morning we are reflecting on a very pleasant evening last night with our friends. Lovely log burner was welcome on a chilly night.

_________________________________________________________________________________

“A well kept secret” – October 2017

Just 2.5 miles from over-priced and over-commercialised Burford we stumbled on this well kept secret of a pub courtesy of the Good Pub Guide for lunch one Thursday. in early October. Table booked by roaring wood fire; service, food quality, presentation, ambience and value for money all excellent and could not be faulted. My steak & ale pie a real winner and my wife’s fish pie deemed the best tasted; the liver beautifully cooked and presented. The puds were excellent too. My meaner instincts say – keep it a secret – but I recommend it unreservedly . We shall be back – & thank you.

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

“Great seafood” – July 2017

We were in the Cotswolds for just a week and whilst the Orangery provided the best overall meal I had, this place provided the best dish. I simply loved the cod. It was cooked to perfection and was so tasty. We had the rabbit and pork rillettes ( coarser than a liver pate but tastier) to start. I ended the meal with a truly excellent lemon cheesecake and raspberries accompanied by a glass of Chilean Muscat. Service was excellent. The prices are good value for the quality of food on offer. If we are ever in the area at a future date we will eat here again.
_________________________________________________________________________________

“Visited on spec” – July 2017

Came across this pub while driving through the area. Lovely old fashioned building. There is nothing modern or upmarket about it. Having said that it is clean and neat. There is a homely feel and it is very welcoming. A good start as I like a place with ambiance! The menu was varied and the food tasty. The staff were friendly and efficient. A very pleasing find which I’m happy to recommend.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

“Lovely pub, beautiful location” – June 2017

We chose to widen our choice of local pubs and opted to visit The Shilton Rose & Crown. We didn’t have any food (which incidentally smelt and looked very appetising) the staff still paid equal attention to us as drinking visitors. The Hooky ale was excellent as was the wine. The atmosphere was light and friendly.  Would definitely choose our next visit to include a bite to eat.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

“Delightful” – May 2017

We have been visiting the Rose and Crown for many years – we live about 10 miles away. It is one of our absolute favourites. We take many friends and family there. Shilton is picture perfect and the pub modern country chic of a simple but elegant kind. The staff are business-like rather than jolly – which we like – and the food is always of a very high standard, the service spot-on, and we have never ever left feeling anything other than happy and pleased. We do always recommend the bread-and-butter pudding, which is indeed the best you are ever likely to eat. We recently took a friend who ran a large and successful upmarket catering company in London and is the author of several highly-regarded books on sourcing food products, and she couldn’t stop raving about the food. So just ignore those sniffy reviews. You’ll travel a long way before beating this pub.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

“No need to advertise” – May 2017

Second visit to this wonderful, quaint little pub, a hidden gem just minutes outside of Burford. Was listed in Cotswold Life top pubs so thought we would give it a try. What can we say? Such a warm welcome, friendly and attentive staff, not overbearing but present when you needed them. Simple menu of freshly prepared food, cooked to perfection. Ate far too much but couldn’t resist! Steak and Ale pie and pear tart delicious. Highly recommended. Had to be thrown out at the end of the night! Certainly in our top 5. With so many eating places to choose from nowadays the pressure is always on. No need here as they have all elements covered- service, food and value. Who needs to advertise when word of mouth is so powerful? Well done Rose & Crown. See you again very soon!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

“Great pub and restaurant” – April 2017

Four of us visited this pub when we were staying at the Burford caravan site. Lovely village pub/restaurant, very friendly staff and excellent food and service.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

“Sunday lunch” – October 2016

We eat here regularly but we have never tried Sunday lunch before. We will certainly be doing so again. We both had roast beef which was cooked to perfection along with all the accompaniments. The service, as ever, was excellent in a perfect location. I am happy to let someone else take the strain when I have less than four to cook for on a Sunday!


“Ten out of Ten” – October 2016

Its a classic Cotswold stone building tastefully modernised. On a Tuesday lunch time it was busy enough for a hidden country pub restaurant. It is however in the Good Pub Guide and Michelin and deservedly so. People were reserving for evening meals over the bar! The locals were a friendly lot. I wanted a “lite bite” and ordered in the bar area where there is good seating. The pigeon terrine with gherkins and bread was fabulous; the tastes were superbly blended. Having seen the desert list I fell for the owner-chef’s unique bread and butter pudding recipe. It was only when I was praising it that I learned that it is the top favourite for diners. The service was spot on.


“This really is a ‘hidden gem” – September 2016

Visited the pub for Sunday lunch on 18th September. We wanted to go somewhere different in the Burford area since we were visiting there for the day. Having checked on Trip Advisor we thought the pub looked really interesting. We booked a table the same day and went there at 2.00 p.m. The pub had a really nice ambience and a very cosy feel. All of the original features had been carefully refurbished apparently some 9 years ago. My wife and I had traditional Sunday lunch. I had the roast beef and my wife had the shoulder of lamb. They were both really delicious accompanied by the usual roast potatoes, parsnips and vegetables. The meat was very tender and melted in your mouth. For desert I had the signature dish which was the bread and butter pudding. I have to say that this was ‘to die for’ and most certainly the best I have ever had. The staff were quiet but friendly and businesslike. We shall definitely be returning again. My wife had only one criticism and found the ladies toilets very outdated and in need of refurbishment.


“First class meal” – AUGUST 2016

The meal was first class can recomend ‘ steak /ale/mushroom pie very prompt service good idea to book as it was busy you can eat inside or weather permitting outside pretty village